Your Shopping cart is empty.

Customer Testimonials

I've done factory wheels and built my own wheels in the past, which has lead to a preference for a good quality, hand built set of wheels on each of my bikes. This time, I was looking to do something unique, and possibly custom, for my road bike.

After a fair bit of searching, comparing and general navel gazing trying to figure out what I'd build, I found that ProWheelBuilder.com (PWB) would give me the best bang for the buck on the parts I had decided on. I ended up having PWB assemble the wheels too...it was a free service with the parts purchase and the incremental cost for duties (wheelsets vs. parts have different duty rates when bringing them into Canada) more than makes up for my time in assembling them myself.

My going more custom than just selecting the parts threw a bit of a wrench in the system, but the gang at PWB made sure things got sorted out in short order. My custom colored, custom engraved Onyx hubs with a leading / trailing pattern of colored spokes were well built into my selected rims. Obvious quality and attention to detail were evident from the packaging of the rims for shipment to the wheels themselves. Straight and true hand built wheels done using the parts I wanted and in the way I wanted them put together...who could ask for more?

Whether for parts or complete wheels, I recommend PWB.

Michael Halliwell May 26, 2017
I'm a big fat fucker that tears up rear wheels all the time. I had these guys build me a 32 Hole Velocity rimmed rear that has taken my abuse. I have been known to tear spoke holes out of Open Pro rims like crazy When the time comes they will build for me again, great builders
K.W. Lawniczak April 21, 2017
My OEM ebike wheel had a hop in it. When I went to my local bike store for a new wheel I gave him a wish list and a price range. I guess I wanted too much for too little and never heard back from him.

I entered my wish list to Pro wheel builder.com and found out I could indeed get what I wanted in budget.

3 weeks later I got a package with a gorgeous custom wheel for me, make with ebike Sapim strong spokes and a rugged DTswiss rim.

Later that afternoon after easily fitting it (my first tubeless tire) I went out to test it. Within a half hour I had achieved two new PRs on the two Strava segments I rode. One by 7 seconds and one by 10. I did a 12 mile trip at an average of 21.3 mph. I would say the wheel works! I don't know if it is the rim geometry, the fact that it is now running tubeless, or the Shimano hub being faster, but I guess I really don't care. The combo works. I would recommend ProWheelbuilder.com to my e-bike buddies, and you guys should probably make an e-bike category for this growing segment.

thanks again.

ed sinofsky.
Ed Sinofsky April 13, 2017
This was my first time to order a custom wheel set and PWB provided great service. They provided several suggestions for me to consider after considering my weight and type of cycling. I decided on the Boyd 44 carbon clinchers, T-11 hubs and Sapim CX Ray spokes. This great combination provides for a smooth light ride while handling well in moderate to strong Kansas winds. PWB communicated very well throughout the process and then provide on-time delivery. I have recommended that others on my team check out PWB.

Thanks Debra!
David Langford March 19, 2017
This was my first custom wheel build. I searched and searched online and kept coming back to ProWheelBuilder.com because the prices were far better than anything I was finding at the big named online shops. I've always thought the factory wheels were the way to go, but this experience has me sold on custom wheels. The quality of the work is obviously superior to any factory prepared wheel I've bought. I was a skeptic, but now I've seen the light. If I ever need wheels again, I won't hesitate to come back to these guys.
Nick Waters January 28, 2017
I can't say enough good things about PWB. My road bike gets daily abuse on a long, hilly commute over bad roads and gravel trails. I was looking for something that was light enough to climb well, tough enough for gravel, and precise enough to handle long descents through mountain switchbacks. The ride has chewed up two stock Bontrager wheelsets and even a set of Mavics. Local wheelbuilders weren't able to quote me anything they thought would work for less than a grand.

I considered a wide range of rims, hubs, and wheelbuilders before Debra at PWB suggested I take a look at the Ventus Premium wheelset. Watching a YouTube video of them bombing down trails gave me confidence that they might fit the bill. I'm glad I took her advice. They are light, responsive, and hold true even after a few months on gravel, and the custom red hubs look really sharp to boot.
Dan Chapman November 12, 2016
I worked with Preston. He is an awesome guy helped me out a lot. I am 6'2 270lb and I like to do the enduro/downhill/freestyle stuff with my hardtail. Being as big as I am I trashed some rims in a really nice rock garden. If it was not for Preston and his team I would have stopped riding, he gave me the wheels to bomb through anything I want to with no damage whatsoever. He gave me the confidence again that my bike could keep up with me and that I did not have to worry the whole time if my bubblegum quick release would flex under my jumps. I honestly feel like I am riding rails. The best experience I have had from any store in a long long time. I would recommend these professional and outstanding men to any person who asked me where I got the awesome looking and performing wheels I have. Thank you Preston so much for taking care of me!
Mark Collier September 01, 2016
I have been a mechanic for over 20 years now and even partially owned my own shop. I built quite a few wheels and definitely trued many more.I do all my maintenance myself and would have loved to build these wheels but I don't have the tools available any longer. I moved on to aircraft maintenance as it was a logical step for me. I know quality and craftsmanship when I see it. I could tell even before I took them out of the box. They were packed very well. I am glad I did my research and found ProWheelBuilder. The build quality was exceptional. Thank you! You are now my go to for wheels and my first recommendation.
MICHAEL GEYER May 12, 2016
Over the past few weeks, I spent a lot of time on different websites trying to find the perfect wheels for me. I decided to order from Pro Wheel Builder because of their great selection/prices and their user friendly site.

Two days after placing my order, I decided that I wanted to make a change the rims I selected. I sent an email and received a response from Debra the next morning. Debra was very helpful and was able to help me with the changes I wanted to make. I received very quick responses to every email I sent.

In the end, Pro Wheel Builder delivered a great set of wheels on the expected delivery date. Their customer service is top notch and I am very satisfied with my purchase. I would highly recommend Pro Wheel Builder to anyone looking to buy custom wheels.
Humberto Moya April 06, 2016
I have purchased wheelsets from two other custom wheelbuilders in the past and firmly believe custom built wheels from a competent wheelbuilder are the best way to buy wheels. My riding friends with factory built wheels seem to experience wheel-related problems on a regular basis but my custom built wheels have held up well. When I finally need to replace a rear wheel recently, I decided to give prowheelbuilder.com a try. I knew what I wanted so I placed my order online. Their website was easy to use and informative with lots of choices.

After I placed my order, I decided to make a change to the number of spoke crossings I had originally spec'd so I emailed Richard. The change was made with no problem. My wheel arrived a few days before the predicted date, built exactly as spec'd. Since I work for a testing laboratory, I weighed the wheel on an analytical balance. The wheel was within 20 grams of the weight predicted by the website. I also received a warranty card with the wheel that included the spoke lengths and spoke tension used to build the wheel, something no one else has ever provided. Since then I have ridden the wheel over 1000 miles and it has performed well.

The three custom wheelbuilders I have used have all been good but prowheelbuilder.com has provided the best service and price. I will be a returning customer..
Greg DuBois October 04, 2015
After some very helpful consultation, I ordered H Plus Son Archetypes with White Industry Hubs in with 24/2x and 28/3x lacing of sapim spokes. This is the third wheelset I have had on my Carrera Nitro. The first, Campy Scirocco's, were smooth but the G3 lacing lacked durability, and I blew many spokes. Switched for Reynolds Solitude, which were noisy and also blew spokes. After riding the H Pus Son wheels about 1200 miles, I am confident that these wheels are the best investment I have made on my bike. They are solid, smooth, quiet, and fast. Although I hate the cliche, these wheels have made a huge difference in my cornering, descending, and overall happiness on my bike. I don't race and I am not a tech wheenie--I just ride to be outside and under my own power. I am 5'11'', ride between 200 and 215. This build is bombproof.
Tim Mahoney August 10, 2015
Just received my wheel set and all I can say is wow, the wheels are perfect. The level of service that Richard provided was truly great, there was an issue with delivery of the rims and he not only kept me in the loop as to what was going on but once complete shipped the wheels out on an overnight delivery. This issue was in no way Richards, but he treated me as if it was. I deal with outside vendors all the time and we are constantly having delivery issues with them, its sometimes the nature of the beast, but its how you handle your end customer that really matters and in this case Richard went beyond the call of duty. All I can really say is a huge thanks to Richard and his team for getting me a meticulously built really set of wheels that I expect will last a very long time. I certainly would not hesitate recommending Pro Wheel Builder to anyone. I know where I'll be getting my next set of wheels, from this website!

Thanks again Richard

Best regards
Alan Lowe August 07, 2015
As a senior rider who has done his own wrenching for the past 50 plus years, I’ve successfully tackled most bike building, maintenance, and repair issues with which one is confronted. However, until recently, I avoided building wheels as I thought the process was too daunting. But, I finally placed wheel building as an item on my bucket list.

When I started researching wheel building components and techniques, I was astonished by the extent of conflicting, or erroneous information provided by print and online sources, including manufacturers’ websites — it was as if wheel building was a cult speciality and practitioners were forbidden to provide clear, correct procedures to an outsider. It also became clear how little most bike shop employees knew about wheel building.

Enter ProWheelBuilder. I was fortunate to find I lived reasonably close to the store and I made an appointment to meet with Richard, the owner. Upon our meeting, I entered the discussion believing I had a pretty good idea of the wheels I wanted to build and was primarily looking for components and encouragement. But, it quickly became clear that even the selection of components was more involved than I initially thought. Fortunately, Richard has an encyclopedic knowledge of the combinations and permutations of components and benefits thereof — I won’t go into details here, but suffice it to say you’ll be better off telling Richard what you want to do with the wheels rather than asking for specific components. Richard will offer several viable options at varying price points. You will be very happy with the result whether you decide to build the wheels, or have Richard build them.

To the last point, I can tell you I built several wheelsets for the enjoyment and sense of accomplishment. But, frankly, because of the expense of the required tools, it is far less expensive to have Richard build the wheels for you. Further, despite being fairly adept with tools, it took me about 4-hours to do what Richard can do in 20-30 minutes. Richard has years of experience and has invented, patented, and manufactured a number of wheel building jigs and tools for the industry and utilizes these tools and expensive measuring devices to facilitate his quick and extremely accurate build process.

I will also tell you that once you build, or buy a hand-built set of wheels, you will no longer be satisfied with the typical machine built wheels that are delivered on most new bicycles, or sold in big box stores as replacement, or upgrade wheels. You can really tell the difference.

I have been very happy with Richard’s advice and assistance with my builds. I highly recommend ProWheelBuilder’s products and services to anyone wanting a quality wheelset.
Craig Tate July 30, 2015
I needed to replace 1 broken Sapim CX-Ray spoke. I couldn’t find anyone that had them in stock. One bike shop told me they could order them, but I’d have to buy 20 @ ~$65. I found Pro Wheel Builder in Cumming, GA. They had my spoke in stock and could cut whatever length I needed. I drove a long way to them to get my spoke. I was so happy to have my new spoke. I got 3 sizes cut so I was covered and had the correct size. Need some wheels, check out this place. They have all sorts choices – Mavic, HED, American Classic, custom, and more!
jodie July 21, 2015
Building up my first bike from the frame up, I wanted to splurge on the wheelset and get one that will last me a long time. Went with the Stan's Flow EX on Hope Pro 2 hubs, double butted spokes on a stainless steel freehub body.

I've put quite a bit of abuse on them since the build was done, and they feel great. Tension is holding up great, looks true as it can be. I'm really happy with them so far. The 1 year warranty is a nice bonus, but hopefully won't be necessary.

Shipping was only a few days late, I think 2. I wasn't too worried. Rather have it done right and late than rushed and botched.
Quality work for a reasonable price, with a lot of custom options.
Justin Enos May 15, 2015
Debra was super helpful with my order and the wheels are exactly what I was looking for. I love my new wheels (White Industries CLD hubs and DT Swiss X329 rims with Sapim Race spokes) and they're exactly what my disc brake road bike needed to be everything I hoped for.
Thank you so much for providing such a great proudct and customer service.
Joseph Alexander April 14, 2015
Ordered up a set of wheels after getting thorough and patient help from them in selecting the pieces. They arrived, and they're excellent! All the hallmarks of a professionally built wheel are in evidence. There was no settling of the wheel when I first applied weight to them, and of course they're completely true and correctly dished.

I'm hard to please, but I'm completely satisfied with the whole experience, and will look to them again when it's time for another set of wheels.
Marshall March 10, 2015
I ordered a set of stans grails on hope pro Evo 2 hubs a little before xmas. They quoted me 3 weeks which was fair. 2 weeks after ordering they showed up and man. were they awesome. I've put on around 200 miles on dirt roads/ and single track with my straggler in the last few weeks and they've performed flawlessly. The guys here helped me place my order and emailed me keeping me up to speed on my wheels progress. Top notch service and top not wheels
daren January 06, 2015
I had some Pacenti SL23 built by PWB a few months ago. Before this, I have never had a custom built wheel. I have had many aluminum prebuilt wheels before (Mavic SL, Dura Ace, Zipp). These wheels far exceed any that I have ridden before in speed, comfort, handling and braking at a much lower cost. The service from PWB was also perfect...great advice on the build... Pacenti SL23, White Industry T11, Sapim CX Ray (front) Race (rear). I love these wheels!
Greg Powell December 10, 2014
Have been riding my wheels (H Son Archetype rims; White Industries hubs and double butted Sapim spokes) long enough now to review them. They're fantastic, were perfectly true out of the box and have not needed any tuning or maintenance yet. Not a wobble front or rear after 800 or so miles, much of it on rough pavement. Service from Prowheelbuilder was terrific. Richard spent a lot of time with me on the phone explaining and reexplaining the differences between butted and bladed spokes and other points and making recommendations. The pricing was also very competitive and fair. Wheels came shipped in simple but smartly designed cardboard boxes without damage or hassle. All in all, am very happy with the wheels, and concerns I had about buying custom wheels from a company located on the other side of the country proved to be a non-issue.
Paul Stein November 12, 2014
I wanted to wait a bit before giving my review. After riding them for a few months I can say I love these wheels!
I called and told them what I was looking for and followed their suggestions. I went with the White Industry hubs and the HED Belgium rims. What I got was a great set of wheels. I don't race, but log a lot of miles just riding. These wheels are fast, smooth, handle great and bomb proof. His work is awesome and the personal service was super. I couldn't be happier with this wheel set. Thanks guys.
Dave October 26, 2014
Brilliant! Could not be happier - Richard and Debra gave great advice and support through the selection process - super fast turn around for all the adjustments to the order..... Just received my new wheels and they are fantastic.
Roger October 17, 2014
Once I placed my order, I received a phone call, the very next morning. About a small error, which was easily solved. This kind of follow through, shows the highest form of professionalism. I was told, that my purchase was already being collected. I then patiently waited, like a child for Christmas Morning, for my Wheel to arrive. Upon arrival, I opened the oddly shaped box, to Unveil, what I shall say is one of the finest pieces of Craftsmanship I have seen in Years. So, Special Thanks to Preston, who laced my wheel, and to Richard who masterfully Trued and Shipped my Wheel. AWESOME Job Fellas !!! here is a Pic. of it mounted on my Bike.
Christian Michelsen October 08, 2014
I called and told them what I was looking for and followed his suggestions. What I got was a great set of wheels at a very fair price. His work is awesome and the personal service was super. Thanks guys.
smilinjack October 08, 2014
I just recieved my wheels yeserday. {Stan's Ironcross w/Hope hubs} This is my first set of handbuilt wheels and it was worth the wait. I will never buy machine built wheels again. I look forward to having you build the wheels for my next project.
Timothy September 27, 2014
Just received my wheels about a week ago. Took them out of the box and raced the state crit. Rode like a dream, they were true, stiff and built exactly as we discussed. Lead out times were spot on, service was great. Now I am looking at ideas for a second set!

CK hubs, 24/28 sapim spokes with Pacenti rims. Loooove the ride.
Joshua Hayes September 16, 2014
Great Job. Ordered a Velocity Chukker 40 spoke and Velocity Rear Disc Hub with Sapin Strong Spokes for my 29er. Rode the bike fully loaded with food and water, Racks and my 120kg body from Perth to Sydney (4,700km). My major concern was that I had popped spokes previously on a 26 inch 36 spoke wheel when riding Cairns to Sydney and was worried about extra forces that would come into play with 29 inch. This wheel was bulletproof and attracted the attention of other touring cyclists on route. Good job team, thank you. Can't wait to find an excuse to buy another set. If you are a big bloke and to tour or trek with lots of gear, start your build with a set of wheels that will go the distance. One happy camper! Carl Johnston Australia
Carl Johnston August 18, 2014
Hi,

You built me a pair of wheels almost 6 years ago. I ride my bike about 13000 KM per year.The wheels are still perfectly straight. It's rather unbelievable to me.

The only bad thing is that it doesn't seem like I'll ever have a need to place another order. These ones are gonna last forever!

Thanks!

Lincoln
Lincoln July 11, 2014
Ordered a Velocity Dyad wheel set after falling and destroying my hip as well as my original wheels. I cannot say how impressed I have been with every aspect of my new wheels from Pro Wheel Builders. The ordering process was great. The packing and shipping were impeccable. I had to just look at a perfectly made set a wheels for a couple of weeks. Now having ridden them for a few miles I am so happy that I chose Pro Wheel Builders. GREAT JOB!!!
M Cashman July 10, 2014
I ordered a set of 36H Mavic EX721s with Hadley hubs and am very happy with them. They are a perfectly built set of wheels. I was skeptical about ordering online, but I can say that these wheels exceeded my expectations. Having had the chance to ride on them for a few weeks now, they have held true and I expect them to last for a long time. The ceramic bearings in the Hadley hubs spin forever. Customer service was great, and the wheels were packaged exceptionally well. Although it did take about 3 weeks from the date I ordered to the date I received my wheels, they were worth the wait, especially considering the great price I paid for them. I would definitely do business with prowheelbuilder again!
Tom S May 31, 2014
White Industries T11 Hubs, H Plus Sons Archetype Polished Rims and Sapim CX Rays spokes.

Fantastic Website, Order was easily submitted and selecting what you want to build was as easy as 1.2.3. In fact i enjoy myself just playing with the various builds possible before deciding.
Wheels received superbly packaged.

Awesome wheelset, Well Built, Truest of the true and rock solid.
Mounted it on my Pelizzoli Corsa GP it was superb ride everytime.
Anytime in the future i need wheels built I will get from Prowheelbuilder.

AAA+++

Yong CL
Singapore
Yong Choon Leong May 18, 2014
Just like the name implies, these are professionally built wheels, round with no hops, trued, dished properly, and evenly tensioned to the right tension. They could not be built any better, rock solid, and delivered on time. For what you get the price is a bargain. If you need a pair of wheels, look no further, this is where to purchase them.
Joe Ruffino May 02, 2014
These guys are the best at what they do; build rock solid wheels. They helped me last year with my damaged FSA rim that didn't make it though a race. They laced up a Mavic to my old hub while I waited so I could be quickly up and running again. That rear wheel is still running true. I've since ordered one of their custom wheels with Stan's Arch hoop laced to a White Industries hub that just finished it's first race in the Hammerhead 100. This wheel is awesome, feels much stiffer and solid compared to the old FSA. The wheel arrived on time and in great shape, they have good attention to detail. I know what kind of quality product I'm getting with Pro Wheel Builder and have no need to look any further. Thanks again guys!
Greg Bley April 14, 2014
My build: H Plus Son Archetype Rims, Sapim Race spokes with brass nipples, 2x front and 3x/3x rear, laced to White Industries T11 Hubs.

My thoughts out of the box: Nothing is quite as nice as a new set of wheels to throw onto your ride. Quality of the parts looked very nice, and the quick tone test revealed all spokes were tensioned evenly...now to pop the wheels into the bike and see how true they actually were.

On the Bike (not riding): First impression is the hubs spin very very smoothly. I own fulcrum racing 1 wheels, and supposedly those hubs are very good, but I can feel the ball bearings swirling around in them. The WI hubs spin so smoothly and quietly as to be imperceptible. I felt no vibration, and spun well. The wheels were within 0.5 mm of true by my estimate and after having put a few hundred miles on them over some pothole ridden rodes, that's how they have stayed.

The Ride: The wide rims of the archetype help make the ride be a bit more compliant, but in my opinion I really felt a difference in the wide rims with CORNERING. The wheels have felt absolutely planted no matter how aggressively I take a turn. Very confidence inspiring. Out of the saddle and during sprints there is no perceptible flex. And the braking surface really allows my brakes to have a solid bite.

Final words: The service has been great, the wheels are excellent, and I got every thing I wanted in a wheel set. Would definitely recommend PWB if what you desire is a solidly built wheel set catered to your riding style, body weight, and intended use!

Cheers!
Colin March 28, 2014
I'm still new at wheel building But I learn very quickly and I needed more information on how to properly take Hub measurements to type into the Spoke calculater! So I went to UBI and read how to correctly take measurements and I typed it into their calculater and the difference between theirs and Prowheelbuilers is that Prowheelbuilders was more accurate than UBI's calculater. I did Not know if I should add or subtract to the closest mm: of measurement? So I compared the two different options and Prowheelbuilders Calculater made it easier for me to decide on what length I should go with! if I would have used the length that UBI calculated it would have been a little bit to Short on my Drive side! I figured what the Hell I'll go with prowheelbuilders calculation and it paided off for me! The Spoke Lengths Where Right on the Money!!!. I'm Well Pleased with my New DT Swiss Spokes and they look great as well! I'm using rims with offset spoke holes and I subtracted 1mm from the None drive side and added 1mm To the Drive side like I should and Prowheelbuiders was more accurate! I laced a Novatec D882SB Rear Hub up to a Loaded AmX Gold Anodized Free ride rim with ERD: of 532 and it is running very Smoothly!
Joseph T Riker December 15, 2013
I ordered the Mavic 823s with Hope hubs. To surprise me more when I verified the rear wheel, it came with the brand new Hope hub with the new 40T racket! You guys rock!
Anthony Ortiz November 21, 2013
I got my wheels last week. They arrived a few days early. Thanks for that.

The wheels are beautiful and rock solid. They look awesome on my Demo 8. I test rode them saturday. They were light, yet had no flex that I could feel. They are confidence inspiring for sure. They arrived in time for Fontana this weekend. I really appreciate it. From now on all of my wheels will come from ProWheelBuilder.com.

Thanks again for the killer hoops!!!
James C November 19, 2013
The staff at Pro wheel builders is Top notch! e-mailed me right away to answer all my questions. Gave me great idea's. The order went through with out a hitch. One of there staff members contacted me with my build status, which I found strange (in todays world) These people really care about the customer. a couple of weeks later. a set of bad a@@ wheels came out of the box. I just ordered another wheel from them. Great company to deal with!
alex padron November 18, 2013
I recently received my first wheel set (MTB Stan's No Tubes FLOW EX, hope hubs, DT Swiss, Spokes 4 Cross Lacing) from Preston at ProWheelBuilder.com. Preston went above and beyond the call of duty explaining the differences in lacing patterns, hubs, rim styles and the reasons to go with one or the other depending on application. I received my wheels faster than the time frame I was given and they were built exactly to the specs stated. I could not be happier with my first purchase from Preston and staff. Thanks for the professional service and awesome product. YOU GUYS ROCK!! Keep up the great work and customer service.
EGarcia November 16, 2013
I needed a last minute wheelset for the Breck Epic this summer and Preston made it all happen on short notice. He walked me through the best setup possible, Enve XC29 rims with I9 hubs. His input was extremely helpful. They were delivered to me on time and perfect. I rode/raced the heck out of these all summer and fall and I haven't touched them. They will be my weapon of choice for the BC Bike Race next summer. It means a lot to have the utmost confidence in my wheels. Awesome job guys. Thanks again and keep up the good work.
Mark Freda October 30, 2013
thanks heaps had my first ride on your singlespeed wheels this morning phil hubs 32 3 cross and velocity rims felt great! everything done as ordered well packaged and arrived quickly will definitely use your services again and have happily recommended you to my riding mates.
BRIAN BATEMAN September 20, 2013
Just got my first wheelset from prowheelbuilder.com and it was an awesome experience. I had them build me a stans notubes ztr flow ex wheelset with hope hubs. They were super helpful and responded to my emails very quickly. The wheels were exactly how I ordered them and came in a beautifully packaged box. They shipped them within the timeframe that they set. Wheels were super true and flawless. I'm defiantly ordering from them again!
Jared Tran September 11, 2013
Wow! Just rode on my new tour wheel with White Industry hub...rolls forever plus I was promised it in a about a week since it was in stock...it shipped the next day! Now that's the kinda place I like working with! Thanks for a great experience! CDB in Missouri
Curtis Burton September 10, 2013
One of the most dependable online merchants I've ever encountered.
Keep up thebgood work!
DENNIS PATRICK TENGONCIANG September 03, 2013
Amazing wheels, great price, and incredible customer service. Could not be happier with my purchase of HED Belgiums with Chris King hubs. I am a 23mm rim convert now. Comfort and handling are greatly improved and the wheels truly are faster. At 3000 miles now the wheels have been virtually bombproof and that is for a bigger guy that rides aggressively. That being said NO wheel is designed to handle the crash I had yesterday. Now PWB is replacing my rear rim at a discount with no charge for other parts or labor. Cannot recommend PWB enough. I will continue to buy my wheels from them.
RW September 03, 2013
As a Clydesdale rider I am lucky enough to build my own wheels to last. I'm very picky about the components I use and I really let them be known while ordering spokes here. As fussy as I am, my concerns were well taken at PWB. Small purchase, small potatoes guy but I was treated as if I had spent thousands. Great customer service!
Mr. Beanz August 23, 2013
I wanted to wait to review my wheels (Kinlin XR270 front, XR300 rear laced to Miche Hubs) til I had put some miles on them, and after about 4 months and 700 miles later, I love these wheels. I wanted to upgrade the stock wheels on my track/ commuter bike and chose PWB because you can get exactly what you want and they beat anything you can get off the shelf. Plus no one else will have a set like you. They took a little longer that expected because of some out of stock parts, but as soon as that was sorted (with a little upgrade, no charge) I received my wheels and have been flying on them ever since. I am completely satisfied with the product, service, and experience. My next wheel set will be from PWB. Thanks!
Fred E August 22, 2013
These guys are great! I contacted them to see if i could get my wheels any quicker for a race and they went above and beyond for me. The owner drove 30 min at night to get them to fed ex. Everytime i called i spoke to a person, always polite despite my daily calls. I havnt recieved the wheels yet but im sure from there professional business relations they will be great. Thank you so very much prowheelbuilder! Special thanks to Richard (owner helping out a racer)

Bill
Bill July 24, 2013
I've been riding on the rear wheel I purchased from you for 2 weeks now practically every day. I'm am very pleased with my purchase and really enjoyed using your website. It takes all the guesswork out of building a wheel to suit your needs. My wheel was delivered on time and well packaged to avoid being damaged in shipping. Your prices are very competitive and I was actually expecting to pay more for what I purchased. Hope to do business with you again.
John June 08, 2013
Wheels arrived yesterday within the timeframe advertised. Spoke tension is high and even. Wheels are straight and true. Nice job PWB!
MPB in WNC June 07, 2013
i just moved from San Diego to Florida, and didnt know any good wheel builders in the East Coast, luckily i found this guys!
i ordered a B43 rear wheel for my new track bike, it was so eazy to order it amazing website, really profesional! my wheel arrived before i was expecting, very good packaged! really nicely done! im really happy! i would definitely order my new wheel set for my road bike!!
thank you guys!!!
javier palacios May 28, 2013
My new Enve 6.7 clinchers on Chris King hubs are the most awesome wheels I've ever ridden. They are better than the hype you read. If you want fast, light, comfortable and pro bling, these are the thing..
G Warwick May 11, 2013
I just spent the weekend riding on my new wheels(Dt Swiss RR585 rims/ Chris King R45 hubs). Wow, it was like being on a different bike. The wheels rode smoother and were stiffer than the set that they replaced(Fulcrum Racing 1), and cost $300 less! I am sold, will be ordering from you guys from now on.
TerryRyder April 21, 2013
Awesome job on the wheel build! DT Swiss FR600, Transition Revolution v3 hubs, Stan's No-Tube kit! THANKS!!
Rob Kuhn March 04, 2013
I just wanted to say thank you for the wheel build. I have really enjoyed riding the HED with White industry hubs. You were correct in saying I would not be disappointed. The craftsmanship and customer service are unparalleled. You have gained a customer for life. Next up some wheels for my 29er build. Thank you again, these road wheels ride like butter.
Abel February 26, 2013
Ordered a set of FlowEx with black spokes and red nipples laced to red Chris King hubs.
I knew I was going to have to be patient as the Christmas rush and holidays coming up. Richard was nice to stay in contact with me on the status of my wheels. Needless to say when they wheels arrived, it was worth the wait! They came out BEAUTIFUL!! I checked the trueness and tension and they were topnotch.
I've been building up a dream bike using a Santa Cruz Blur LTc, SRAM components, KS Lev, Fox fork/shock, Easton Have carbon bars, Thompson stem, Candy pedals. The last piece to finish off the bike were the ProBuilder wheels. Putting on the wheels and seeing the complete bike was just a huge sigh of satisfaction and accomplishment for me, know I ordered the right wheelsets.
Thank Richard and ProWheelBuilder.com!!!
David from the Big Island, Hawaii January 14, 2013
I buy most everything online these days. There are a few online stores that 'do it right' - like Amazon, ModernBike - and I have found another one - ProWheelBuilder.com. I am a rather hard core 'recreational' rider - centuries and work commuter (36 miles per day) and have been riding my carbon fiber geared bike now for the past 6 or 7 years. I traded a friend a pair of pedals for an old Raleigh chromoly steel frame and thought I would jump into building up a commuter single speed bike. I also thought while at it, why not build my first set of wheels. I didn't know what I was doing - still learning every day - and have spent more time on Sheldon Brown's website than I have with my wife the past 6 months. With enough knowledge to be dangerous, I started dealing with ProWheelBuilder. I had lots of questions and was and continue to be very impressed with the patience shown me by both Debra and Richard Craig - the owners. They are responsive to email and phone questions and concerns, they are honest and they possess just enough of a sense of humor to get through it all. I made some mistakes in my initial ordering and Richard came through with another solution for me very professionally and to my complete satisfaction. I love this site and have had so much fun putting this bike together - I know I will be building another and another and I will buy all my wheel stuff from ProWheelBuilders. I highly recommend these guys. Thanks Richard and Debra and keep up the excellent work and customer service!!!
Steve Pieri December 19, 2012
Just ordered my second wheelset from Prowheelbuilder for my second Lynskey titanium road bike, the R330. I have put almost 3000 miles in six months on my first Prowheelbuilder wheelset on my Lynskey Helix OS and the wheels have remained true and smooth spinning over all types of roads in Thailand. Whether I am doing my 50 mile Saturday and Sunday club rides or riding solo centuries along the coastal roads in southern Thailand and the beaches in Hua Hin, my thoughts and thanks are always with you for building me such a great and reliable wheelset.
Mark S. Tang October 24, 2012
After looking for what seemed like forever for a decent online spoke calculator I finally stumbled upon your website..
I had previously used the DTSwiss and Sapim spoke calculators but recently their websites have been updated at which time it would seem that the spoke calculators have been taken down..
I've now used your SpokeCalc with great success, it's so easy to navigate too..
Please, please, please never get rid of it :) ..
Dan October 15, 2012
Love my new wheels with Velocity Deep V + White Ind hubs! Thank you.
JC September 29, 2012
Purchased a set or H plus Archteypes end of July, got a message from pro wheel buillder of the back order after my wheels didn't show up on the current shippment.
gave a date of 8/28/12 as the possible date, sure enough got a message about the recieving and shipping out of my wheels, 2 days (8/30/12) later I recieve my wheel at the door.

good customer service and great communication, great prices.
will shop here again.

thanks guys
Gerard Gervais August 30, 2012
Greetings Pro Wheel Builder dot com I tried out my new wheels today on the New Mexico Velo Sport Saturday Team ride. We went from Albuquerque, to Bernalillo, to Placitas, up over the dirt/rocky road (8-miles) up to ~9000 ft above the Sandia Peak Ski Area, descended down (pavement) back to Tijeras, and then returned to Albuquerque [70+ miles]. The wheels are straight & true like brand new after a thorough test out. Thanks for your attention and professional assembly of a very fine and enjoyable wheel set. Sincerely, JSR
JSR August 29, 2012
I'm Michael, a Cat 1 out of Vegas. I had bought a set of stock Zipp 404 wheels that I thought would do just fine for crit racing and training. A buddy of mine had the same rims, but one of the pawls in his rear hub broke and the gear would not engage, cauzing it to slip during an important race, which took him out of the running due to his hub mechanical. Nothing against Zipp hubs, but When Rich, the owner of Pro Wheelbuilder.com, showed me the inside of a Zipp hub compared to a White Industry hub, I was shocked!. I immediately had Rich build me a wheel from scratch using the Zipp rim, White industry hub, flat black spokes, and replaced the old rim tape with nipple plugs. I did all of this for the around the same price as buying the stock wheels, and let me tell you the wheel is ten times better than it was coming out of the box from Zipp. It's like a Zipp wheels on steroids!. I use em to climb, crit, train....anything and everything. I love em!. Trust me, Rich will guide you through the whole process in building a wheel that is perfect for all of your needs. He did it for me. Thanks Rich! Michael .....AkA...."Chicky"
Michael August 29, 2012
I wanted to take the time to say thank you for the wheels. I appreciate the time you took during the order to ensure I got the best wheels for my needs. The end product is top notch! While no wheel can ever be the "one wheel quiver" these come very close. Thank you again.
Devin Reiss August 29, 2012
Greatest guys ever! I recently purchased two rims and spokes from them and everything was great from customer service to the fast turnaround time for my products. I highly recommend them.
anonymous August 24, 2012
I received my front Velocity Dyad rim with Shimano 105 hub a couple of
days ago. It made my day to come home and find my new wheel waiting
for me. I headed straight to the garage to make the change. First, I
checked the spoke tension with the old squeeze test. It seemed
uniformly tight. Nice. Next, I put the wheel on the fork without a
tire and gave her a spin. Wow, that's really, really true and minimal
vertical hop too! The only thing left to do was install the tape and
tire. I've put 15 miles of rough city roads on the wheel so far, and
it's as true as it was out of the box. I wholeheartedly believe this
wheel will out live my bike. Thanks guys!

--Update-- I'm as happy now as I was a month ago. The wheel has
over 600 miles on it now, and it's as good now as it was then. Todd
Tforret July 17, 2012
To the good folks at PWB, I placed an order with you guys on May 4, 2012. I requested Black MSW Velocity Dyad rims with White Industries Hubs, & DT Swiss spokes & nipples. You guys exceeded my expectations to say the least!!! My wheels arrived days earlier than expected and the wheels are super true. There was no need to true them even after the rough haul all the way to Alaska. Oh, and of course they look awesome!! Thank you so much for your promptness and good service!! Happy Tailwinds, Ashleigh Reed Haines, Alaska
Ahaines May 17, 2012
This site is amazing! The custom build tool is GREAT I'll be buying my next set of wheels from you guys for sure.
GP April 24, 2012
AWESOME! Love your spoke calc. Thank you!
anonymous January 24, 2012
I ordered a set of DT Swiss RR 1.1 with 190 hubs in the spring of 2010. I have more than 3k miles on the wheelset with no issues. Great service, great product. Thank you Richard.
Tom Tabuso June 11, 2010
Just wanted to leave my two cents from a customer standpoint. Prowheelbuilder.com is a great site: easy to navigate, great information, and up-to-date products. I called with some information at hand and was helped the rest of the way to get the best wheel for my application. The process was smooth, quick and worry-free. I would definitely recommend anyone looking for a custom wheel to prowheelbuilder.com. Thanks for an awesome wheel! It looks great on my 1987 Schwinn fixie. Best regards, Craig
Craig August 13, 2009
i have been looking for a custom rims to lighten my cannondale scalpel 4 with lefty front shocks and this is where i found it. hopefully in a couple of months i will be able to buy my dt swiss rims for my bike. anyway this site is awesome. very easy to navigate and customize you own rims/wheels. and the the weight is automatically shown when you're done with the choices. great site!
don July 25, 2009
Love the wheels. Custom white Phil Wood fixed with white Velocity rims. Black/White interlaced spokes. The ride is fantastic and they were delivered in less than 15 days. Richard was very helpful in answering questions about placing a "dual" freewheel on the fixie Phil Wood. Works great! Thanks again.
Rick July 15, 2009
Just wanted to say thanks and I can't believe how great the wheels are that I bought. I purchased a set of Velocity Dyad Rims w/DT Swiss spokes and Shimano XT hubs back in January for my tandem. It's now June and I've officially put over 1,000 miles on them and they are as true as the first day I bought them. I honestly believe they are probably the best wheelset I've ever owned. I say this because I haven't had to do anything to them at all. I just check the tire pressure then get on the bike and go. They are a huge improvement over the stock rims that came with the bike and provide me incredible peace of mind when I'm flying down hills at 40 - 50 mph with my wife seated behind me. By the way she wanted me to add that the wheels make the tandem look sexy (haha). Take care and keep up the great work!! Sid
Sid Solano June 19, 2009
I had a custom wheelset made. I received them 3 weeks from the order date. They were dead true and all the spokes had equal tensions. I took them out on a 55 mile maiden cruse and they are flawless. I got a lot of comments from friends about how sharp these wheels look on my Orbea. Black hubs and nipples with white spokes and white Deep V's. It really makes the bike unique. Thanks Richard for the lacing advise and top notch wheel smithing. These wheels are bomb proof.
Tony Buck May 22, 2009
I ordered my custom wheel set and they were shipped within 5 business days! They were built flawlessly and spin extremely smooth. I would recommend these guys to anyone wanting a custom wheel set.
Justin January 14, 2009
Richard at www.prowheelbuilder.com laced these hubs to a great looking pair of DT swiss rims (5.1D's). They are fast and look the part. I really wanted something different. These hubs are classic looking, the engagement is solid, and they are fast... highly recommend. both, the white industries Hubs, and prowheelbuilder.com. Thanks richard!!!
Jekyll January 12, 2009
I just used them in October to build a set of road wheels (Velocity Aeroheads, Sapim Race, White Industries hubs and USE Spinsticks). I asked for 24 front 2x and 28 rear 2x and they built them as specified. They advised about 2 weeks before shipping, and they arrived in good order in two weeks. They appear to be built well and have remained true (for the two months I have been riding on them). Would I use them again, YES.
Tzvia January 12, 2009
richard, the wheels are great. i rode a hundred miles this weekend. I hit a lot of bumps and the wheels are still true. thanks again. looking forward to buying more wheels from you. xavier
Xavier January 12, 2009
I would like to say Thank You to Rich over at www.PROWheelBuilder.com in Vegas, who went out of his way during his extremely busy schedule to lace up a set of SunRingle A.D.D. LITE Downhill wheels for me to use in Colorado those wheels helped get me on the podium! See the posting at http://quintonspaulding.wordpress.com/2008/08/07/crankworx-winter-park-colorado/
LOGAN BINGGELI KHS BICYCLES PRO MEN January 07, 2009
I purchased a set of Reynolds DV46C's with a PowerTap wireless 2.4 in March of 08. It's now 11/1/08 and the wheels are still running perfectly true after 6,000+ miles...no issues. My riding partner has the same wheels with the same miles and no issue with his either. If you want a bombproof FAST carbon wheelset that can be used daily, this is a great choice. The PowerTap has worked perfectly as well. I will definitely purchase any future wheels from Pro Wheel Builder. Richard was very helpful and provided great service.
Scott Mullins October 26, 2008
I recently received my first wheelset (road, Niobiums, with White Hubs) from Richard at ProWheelBuilder.com. Richard went above and beyond the call of duty explaining the differences in lacing patterns, hubs, rim styles and the reasons to go with one or the other depending on application. I received my wheels within the timeframe I was given and they were built exactly to the specs stated. I could not be happier with my first purchase from Richard and staff. Prowheelbuilder will be building my Powertap set up ASAP!!! Thanks for the professional service and awesome product.
John C September 19, 2008
I was going to buy a set of wheels from thebikebiz.com. White Phil hubs to white Deep Vs. Here's a quote from the email they sent me: "Wheel price would be $675 USD, and shipping will be approximately $200 USD". So... $875. Yesterday I received a pair of the exact same wheels from Richard at prowheelbuilder.com. Total cost including shipping: $594.70. That's almost $300 difference for the exact same item. I ordered them Sept 6 and received them September 18, so less than two weeks later. I only had to pay $31 in taxes and no customs. The wheels are fantastic and the price was great. Thanks Richard!
Lincoln September 18, 2008